Managing User Permissions

User Permissions

R4J allows the Jira Administrator to restrict access to certain features of the plugin according to Jira user groups. User permissions are global - that is, they apply to all projects activated for R4J. Note that project permissions take precedence over global user permissions - see Managing Project Permissions.

Configuring permissions

To configure user permissions you must be a Jira Administrator.

  • Select the Jira Administration icon > Manage apps and then R4J - Requirements Management for Jira > Permissions from the sidebar. (Keyboard shortcut: Enter "." and start typing "permissions".)

  • To grant every Jira user access to all R4J features, set the option Restrict user access to No.

  • To restrict access to individual features, set the option Restrict user access to Yes and then configure permissions as desired.

  • To configure individual restrictions, locate the given permission in the Permission table and add the groups to which you want to grant the permission in the Groups column. To revoke permission, remove the group from the groups column of the given permission.

Though not, strictly speaking, a user permission, the option to allow Confluence pages to be included in project trees is also set in this page.

Permission Reference

R4J Permission

Purpose

R4J - Requirements Management for Jira user

Basic permission to use R4J. This is a precondition for all other permissions.

Make sure you include one or more groups that contain all the users of R4J projects. A simple solution would be to create a group such as r4j-users for this purpose.

Reuse Configuration

Create, modify and delete reuse configurations.

Suspect Configuration

Access and edit suspect configuration.

Baseline View

View baselines of all projects.

Baseline Edit

Create, modify and delete baselines of all projects.

Export Template Configuration

Add, modify and delete word export templates.

Export

Use all export functionality in R4J views.

ReqIF Field Mapping

Configure ReqIF fields mappings for export and import. See ReqIF Field Mapping.

ReqIF Export/Import

Trigger an export to file or import from file in ReqIF format. See ReqIF Export/Import.

Overriding project baseline permissions

Baselines can be reached in two different ways in R4J:

  • globally via the main R4J menu bar: View All Baselines

  • from individual projects via the project menu bar: Baselines

Baseline permissions are determined, in principle, at the project level (see Managing Project Permissions), but these permissions can be overridden by global settings, as explained in the following table:

Global Setting

Effective Permission

Users have unrestricted access (i.e. the option “Restrict user access” is set to No).

Project permissions solely determine the the ability to view, modify and delete baselines. Members of the groups with project permissions are allowed to access baselines both globally and via individual projects.

Permission is granted to members of specific user groups in the baseline permissions.

Members of the groups are allowed to view, modify and delete baselines, regardless of any project permissions. They are allowed to access baselines both globally and via individual projects.

Users that are not members of these groups are not allowed to access baselines globally. However, they are still allowed to access baselines via the individual projects, as long as the project permissions permit.