Managing Project Permissions

Overview

R4J allows project administrators as well as Jira Administrators to restrict the various permissions of individual projects to user groups. Project permissions take precedence over global user permissions - see Managing User Permissions.

Configuring Permissions

To configure the restrictions on a given project's permissions you must have the project administrator role of the project or be a Jira Administrator.

  • Select the Jira Administration icon > Projects. (Keyboard shortcut: Enter "." and start typing "projects".)

  • Select the desired project and from the project settings sidebar select R4J - Requirements Management for Jira. (If the menu item isn't displayed, the project has to be enabled for R4J.)

  • To grant every user a permission, select Restrict ... permissions > No.

  • To configure individual restrictions in each category of permission, select Restrict ... permissions > Yes. In the table that appears, permissions are explicitly granted by selecting Add a group and choosing one or more groups to receive the permission. Users that are not in at least one of the groups are now not able to exercise the corresponding feature.

Jira Administrators are exempt from project restrictions.

Permission Reference

Category

Permission

Purpose

Comment

Category

Permission

Purpose

Comment

Tree Item Permissions





Create / Modify

To create new issues or folders and edit existing ones. Also to sort issues within a tree.

There are separate permissions for issues and folders.

Delete

To delete folders or to remove issues from the tree.

Move

To move an item to another folder in the same tree.

Export

To export an item.

Permissions for Coverage and Traceability Views

Private

To create, modify and delete private views.

 

Public

To create, modify and delete public views.

 

Export

To export the contents of a view.

 

Scheduling Permissions

Create

To create rules for the scheduled adding of issues.

Only the author of a rule is allowed to edit it. Note that users are allowed to view and edit their own existing rules even if they no longer have permission to create new rules.

Delete

To delete rules.

Baseline Permissions

View

To view baselines.

Project baseline permissions can be overridden by global settings - see Managing User Permissions.

Create

To create new baselines.

Modify

To modify and delete baselines.

Delete

To delete baselines.

Export

To export baselines.